OFFICIAL MINUTES OF THE PLANNING COMMISSION OF THE CITY OF MORENO VALLEY

REGULAR MEETING – 6:00 PM March 23, 2023

CALL TO ORDER

This regular meeting of the Planning Commission of the City of Moreno Valley was called to order at 6:00 p.m., by Chairperson DeJohnette in the Council Chambers located at 14177 Frederick Street, Moreno Valley, California.

ROLL CALL

Planning Commission: Alvin DeJohnette Chairperson Present

Matthew Chen Vice-Chairperson Present
JoAnn Stephan Commissioner Present
Omar Cobian Commissioner Present
Jeffrey Sims Commissioner Present
Ray L. Baker Commissioner Present

PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE

The Pledge of Allegiance was led by Commissioner Sims.

APPROVAL OF AGENDA

RESULT: APPROVED [UNANIMOUS]
MOVER: Ray L. Baker, Commissioner
SECONDER: Matthew Chen, Vice-Chairperson

AYES: Ray L. Baker, Matthew Chen, Alvin DeJohnette, JoAnn Stephan,

Omar Cobian, Jeffrey Sims

PUBLIC COMMENTS PROCEDURE

PUBLIC COMMENTS

Speakers
Dr. Mary McBean
Tom Jerele Sr.

CONSENT CALENDAR

Planning Commission - Regular Meeting - Mar 9, 2023 6:00 PM

RESULT: APPROVED [5 TO 0]

MOVER: Ray L. Baker, Commissioner SECONDER: JoAnn Stephan, Commissioner

AYES: Ray L. Baker, JoAnn Stephan, Alvin DeJohnette, Matthew Chen, Omar

Cobian

Abstain: Jeffrey Sims

NON-PUBLIC HEARING ITEMS

No items for discussion.

PUBLIC HEARING ITEMS

- 1. Proposed Specific Plan Amendment and Plot Plan to construct a new 92-room hotel.
 - A. Staff recommends that the Planning Commission take the following actions:
 - 1. **ADOPT** Resolution No. 2023-08, and thereby:
 - a) RECOMMENDING THAT THE CITY COUNCIL APPROVE the Initial Study/Mitigated Negative Declaration prepared for on file with the Community Development Department, incorporated herein by this reference, which was completed in compliance with CEQA and the CEQA Guidelines, and reflects that the Planning Commission reviewed and considered the information contained in the Initial Study/Mitigated Negative Declaration, and exercised its independent judgment and analysis of the Proposed Project's potential environmental impacts; and
 - b) **RECOMMENDING THAT THE CITY COUNCIL ADOPT** the Mitigation Monitoring and Reporting Program prepared for the Proposed Project, which consists of Specific Plan Amendment (PEN21-0330) and Plot Plan (PEN21-0329), pursuant to CEQA and the CEQA Guidelines.
 - 2. **ADOPT** Resolution No. 2023-09, and thereby:
 - a) **RECOMMENDING THAT THE CITY COUNCIL APPROVE** Specific Plan Amendment (PEN21-0330) based on the Recital, Evidence contained in the Administrative Records and Findings as set forth in Resolution No. 2023-09.
 - 3. **ADOPT** Resolution No. 2023-10, and thereby:
 - a) **RECOMMENDING THAT THE CITY COUNCIL APPROVE** Plot Plan (PEN21-0329) based on the Recital, Evidence contained in the Administrative Records and Findings as set forth in Resolution No. 2023-10.

Public Hearing Opened: 6:37 p.m.

Speakers

Tom Jerele Sr

Public Hearing Closed: 6:47 p.m.

RESULT: APPROVED [5 TO 0]

MOVER: Ray L. Baker, Commissioner SECONDER: Matthew Chen, Vice-Chairperson

AYES: Ray L. Baker, Matthew Chen, Alvin DeJohnette, JoAnn Stephan,

Jeffrey Sims

ABSTAIN: Omar Cobian

OTHER COMMISSION BUSINESS

A special presentation was made thanking Commissioner Sims for his 10 years of dedicated service as a Planning Commissioner from 2013 through 2023.

Commissioner Sims gave a short speech reflecting on his time with the Commission and praises the staff for their hard work.

STAFF COMMENTS

Planning Official, Sean Kelleher, thanked Commissioner Sims for his service and expressed how much he appreciated working with him. He also noted the Commissioners will be attending a League of California Cities Conference.

PLANNING COMMISSIONER COMMENTS

Vice-Chairperson Chen wished everyone a happy Woman's history month and requested the meeting be closed in honor of the late Dr. Carla Thornton and Victoria Baca.

ADJOURNMENT

There being no further business to come before the Planning Commission, Chairperson adjourned the meeting at 7:08 PM.

Submitted by:	Approved by:	
Rachel Ramirez	Alvin DeJohnette	
Planning Commission Secretary	Chairperson	