#### MINUTES SPECIAL MEETING OF THE CITY COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF MORENO VALLEY

#### SPECIAL MEETING – 5:00 PM March 5, 2015

## CALL TO ORDER

The Special Meeting (Planning Commission Interviews) of the City Council of the City of Moreno Valley was called to order at 5:40 p.m. by Mayor Jesse L. Molina in the Council Chamber located at 14177 Frederick Street.

## ROLL CALL

Council:

Jesse L. Molina Dr. Yxstian A. Gutierrez D. LaDonna Jempson George E. Price Jeffrey J. Giba Mayor Mayor Pro Tem Council Member Council Member Council Member

Staff:

Jane Halstead Suzanne Bryant City Clerk City Attorney

# PUBLIC COMMENTS ON MATTERS ON THE SPECIAL MEETING AGENDA

Mayor Jesse L. Molina opened the agenda item for public comments, which were received from Tom Jerele Sr., Chris Baca, Deanna Reeder, and Louise Palomarez.

# SPECIAL ORDER OF BUSINESS

## 1 SECOND INTERVIEWS FOR PLANNING COMMISSION FINALISTS

#### **Recommendations That the City Council:**

- 1. Conduct Planning Commission second interviews for finalists;
- Make appointments to the Planning Commission with terms to be decided at the March 24, 2015 Regular City Council Meeting; or
- 3. Select finalists to move forward to the March 24, 2015 Regular City Council Meeting.

Council Member Price announced for transparency purposes that he had a spontaneous meeting with the local developer Iddo Benzeevi regarding this and his opinion on who should be selected.

The following nine applicants were interviewed for consideration of appointments to the Planning Commission for three terms expiring March 31, 2019, and one term expiring March 31, 2017: Jess Sims (incumbent), Tracy Hodge, Wraymond Sawyerr, Patricia Korzec, Erlan Gonzalez, Jeffrey Barnes (incumbent), Lori Nickel, Glenn Jacobs, and Mary Ellen "Meli" Van Natta (incumbent).

Recess; Reconvened

Motion to vote by voting board until the Council reaches four candidates. by m/Mayor Jesse L. Molina, s/Council Member Jeffrey J. Giba

<u>Approved by a vote of 4-1, Council Member D. LaDonna Jempson</u> <u>opposed.</u>

Appoint Jeff Simms for the Planning Commission. by m/Council Member Jeffrey J. Giba, s/Council Member D. LaDonna Jempson

Approved by a vote of 5-0.

<u>Tracy Hodge for the Planning Commission by m/Council Member</u> <u>George E. Price, s/Council Member Jeffrey J. Giba</u>

Failed by a vote of 1-4, Mayor Jesse L. Molina, Mayor Pro Tem Dr. Yxstian A. Gutierrez, Council Member D. LaDonna Jempson, Council Member Jeffrey J. Giba opposed.

Wraymond Sawyer for the Planning Commission by m/Council Member Jeffrey J. Giba, s/Council Member George E. Price

Failed by a vote of 2-3, Council Member D. LaDonna Jempson, Council Member George E. Price, Council Member Jeffrey J. Giba opposed.

Patricia Korzec for the Planning Commission by m/Council member George E. Price, s/Council Member D. LaDonna Jempson

<u>Approved by a vote of 3-2, Mayor Jesse L. Molina, Mayor Pro Tem Dr.</u> <u>Yxstian A. Gutierrez opposed.</u> Erlan Gonzalez for the Planning Commission by m/Council Member Jeffrey J. Giba, s/Council Member George E. Price

<u>Approved by a vote of 3-2, Mayor Pro Tem Dr. Yxstian A. Gutierrez,</u> <u>Council Member Jeffrey J. Giba opposed.</u>

Jeffrey Barnes for the Planning Commission by m/Council Member Jeffrey J. Giba, s/Council Member George E. Price

<u>Approved by a vote of 3-2, Mayor Pro Tem Dr. Yxstian A. Gutierrez,</u> <u>Council Member D. LaDonna Jempson opposed.</u>

Lori Nickel for the Planning Commission by m/Council Member Jeffrey J. Giba, s/Council Member D. LaDonna Jempson

Failed by a vote of 1-4, Mayor Pro Tem Dr. Yxstian A. Gutierrez, Council Member George E. Price, Council Member Jeffrey J. Giba, Mayor Jesse L. Molina opposed.

Glenn Jacobs for the Planning Commission by m/Mayor Pro Tem Dr. Yxstian A. Gutierrez, s/Council Member Jeffrey J. Giba

Failed by a vote of 2-3, Mayor Jesse L. Molina, Council Member George E. Price, Council Member Jeffrey J. Giba opposed.

<u>Meli Van Natta for the Planning Commission by m/Mayor Jesse L.</u> <u>Molina, s/Council Member Jeffrey J. Giba</u>

<u>Approved by a vote of 3-2, Council Member D. LaDonna Jempson,</u> <u>Council Member George E. Price opposed.</u>

Second round

<u>Jeff Sims for the Planning Commission by m/Council Member Jeffrey</u> <u>J. Giba, s/Council Member George E. Price</u>

Approved by a vote of 4-1, Mayor Pro Tem Dr. Yxstian A. Gutierrez opposed.

Patricia Korzec for the Planning Commission by m/Council Member George E. Price, s/Council Member Jeffrey J. Giba

<u>Approved by a vote of 3-2, Mayor Jesse L. Molina, Mayor Pro Tem Dr.</u> <u>Yxstian A. Gutierrez opposed.</u> Erlan Gonzalez for the Planning Commission by m/Council Member George E. Price, s/Mayor Jesse L. Molina

<u>Approved by a vote of 3-2, Mayor Pro Tem Dr. Yxstian A. Gutierrez,</u> <u>Council Member Jeffrey J. Giba opposed.</u>

Jeffrey Barnes for the Planning Commission by m/Council Member George E. Price, s/Mayor Pro Tem Dr. Yxstian A. Gutierrez

Approved by a vote of 5-0.

<u>Meli Van Natta for the Planning Commission by m/Mayor Jesse L.</u> <u>Molina, s/Council Member Jeffrey J. Giba</u>

<u>Approved by a vote of 3-2, Council Member D. LaDonna Jempson,</u> <u>Council Member George E. Price opposed.</u>

Third round

Patricia Korzec for the Planning Commission by m/Council Member Jeffrey J. Giba, s/Council Member George E. Price

Approved by a vote of 4-1, Mayor Jesse L. Molina opposed.

Erlan Gonzalez by m/Council Member George E. Price, s/Council Member Jeffrey J. Giba

<u>Approved by a vote of 3-2, Mayor Pro Tem Dr. Yxstian A. Gutierrez,</u> <u>Council Member Jeffrey J. Giba opposed.</u>

<u>Meli Van Natta for the Planning Commission by m/Council Member</u> Jeffrey J. Giba, s/Mayor Jesse L. Molina

<u>Approved by a vote of 3-2, Council Member D. LaDonna Jempson,</u> <u>Council Member George E. Price opposed.</u>

Motion to move forward Jeff Sims, Jeffrey Barnes, and Patricia Korzec to the March 24, 2015 City Council meeting for appointment. by m/Council Member Jeffrey J. Giba, s/Council Member George E. Price

Approved by a vote of 5-0.

Fourth round

Erlan Gonzalez for the Planning Commission. by m/Council Member George E. Price, s/Council Member Jeffrey J. Giba

Failed by a vote of 2-3, Mayor Jesse L. Molina, Mayor Pro Tem Dr. Yxstian A. Gutierrez, Council Member Jeffrey J. Giba opposed.

Meli Van Natta for the Planning Commission by m/Council Member Jeffrey J. Giba, s/Mayor Pro Tem Dr. Yxstian A. Gutierrez

<u>Approved by a vote of 3-2, Council Member D. LaDonna Jempson,</u> <u>Council Member George E. Price opposed.</u>

Motion to forward Meli Van Natta's name for Planning Commission appointment at the March 24, 2015 City Council Meeting. by m/Council Member Jeffrey J. Giba, s/Mayor Pro Tem Dr. Yxstian A. Gutierrez

Approved by a vote of 5-0.

Council's direction: tally the votes of top applicants (runner ups) and keep their applications for selection of Planning Commission alternates, if the Council decides to have alternates.

# Motion to adjourn. by m/Mayor Jesse L. Molina, s /Council Member Jeffrey J. Giba

# Approved by a vote of 5-0.

# ADJOURNMENT

There being no further business to conduct, the meeting was adjourned at 9:17 p.m. by <u>unanimous informal consent.</u>

Submitted by:

Jane Halstead, City Clerk, CMC