MINUTES SPECIAL MEETING OF THE CITY COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF MORENO VALLEY

SPECIAL MEETING – 8:00 AM February 28, 2015

CALL TO ORDER

The Special Meeting (Planning Commission Interviews) of the City Council of the City of Moreno Valley was called to order at 8:03 a.m. by Mayor Jesse L. Molina in the Council Chamber located at 14177 Frederick Street.

ROLL CALL

Council:

Jesse L. Molina Dr. Yxstian A. Gutierrez D. LaDonna Jempson George E. Price Jeffrey J. Giba Mayor Mayor Pro Tem Council Member Council Member Council Member

Staff:

Jane Halstead Suzanne Bryant City Clerk City Attorney

PUBLIC COMMENTS ON MATTERS ON THE SPECIAL MEETING AGENDA UNDER THE JURISDICTION OF THE CITY COUNCIL

Mayor Jesse L. Molina opened the agenda item for public comments, which were received from Tom Jerele Sr., Chris Baca, Louise Palomarez, and Lindsay Robinson.

Recess; Reconvened

SPECIAL ORDER OF BUSINESS

1 INTERVIEW OF APPLICANTS FOR OPENINGS ON THE PLANNING COMMISSION

Recommendations That the City Council:

- 1. Conduct Planning Commission interviews;
- 2. Make appointments to the Planning Commission with terms to be decided at the March 24, 2015 Regular City Council Meeting; or

3. Select finalists to move forward to the March 24, 2015 Regular City Council Meeting.

The following sixteen applicants were interviewed for consideration of appointments to the Planning Commission for three terms expiring March 31, 2019, and one term expiring March 31, 2017: Mary Ellen "Meli" Van Natta (incumbent), Jeff Sims (incumbent), Tracy Hodge, Wraymond Sawyerr, Norberto Perez, Dr. Mary McBean, Terry Streich, Patricia Korzec, Thomas Thornsley, Madelene A. Muntz, David Marquez, Erlan Gonzalez, Jeffrey M. Barnes (incumbent), Lori Nickel, and Glenn Jacobs and Basil Kimbrew.

Robert A. Snyder and Donovan Saadiq declined the interview. Walter Detlefsen didn't participate in the interview.

After lunch break, Mayor Jesse L. Molina opened the agenda item for public comments, which were received from Deanna Reeder, Lindsay Robinson and Louise Palomarez.

Council Member Giba made a motion, seconded by Mayor Pro Tem Dr. Gutierrez to agendize having sworn Planning Commission alternates. Motion passed unanimously.

Council consensus was to narrow down the number of applicants to about eight and bring back finalists for a second interview, after which four finalists will be selected.

Recess:

Reconvened

Mayor Molina announced that a selection by a voice vote for each candidate will be conducted. A candidate who receives three council votes will be selected for a second interview.

Mary Ellen "Meli" Van Natta – a 3-2 vote, Council Member Jempson and Council Member Price opposed

Jeff Sims – a 5-0 vote

Tracy Hodge – a 5-0 vote

Wraymond Sawyerr - a 3-2 vote, Council Member Price and Council Member Giba opposed

Norberto Perez – a 0-5 vote, Council Member Jempson, Council Member Price, Council Member Giba, Mayor Pro Tem Dr. Gutierrez, Mayor Molina opposed

Dr. Mary McBean a 0-5 vote, Council Member Jempson, Council Member MINUTES Price, Council member Giba, Mayor Pro Tem Dr. Gutierrez, Mayor Molina opposed

Terry Streich – a 2-3 vote, Council Member Jempson, Mayor Pro Tem Dr. Gutierrez, Mayor Molina opposed

Patricia Korzec – a 5-0 vote

Thomas Thornsley – a 1-4 vote, Council Member Jempson, Council Member Giba, Mayor Pro Tem Gutierrez, Mayor Molina opposed

Madelene A. Muntz – a 2-3 vote, Council Member Giba, Mayor Pro Tem Dr. Gutierrez, Mayor Molina opposed

David Marquez – a 1-4 vote, Council Member Jempson, Council Member Price, Council Member Giba, Mayor Pro Tem Dr. Gutierrez opposed

Erlan Gonzalez – a 5-0 vote

Jeffrey Barnes – a 3-2 vote, Council Member Jempson, Mayor Pro Tem Gutierrez opposed

Lori Nickel – a 3-2 vote, Council Member Price and Council Member Giba opposed

Glenn Jacobs – a 3-2 vote, Council Member Jempson, Council Member Price opposed

Basil Kimbrew – a 4-1 vote, Council Member Jempson, Council Member Price, Council Member Giba, Mayor Pro Tem Dr. Gutierrez opposed

The following nine candidates were selected for a second interview: Mary Ellen "Meli" Van Natta, Jeff Sims, Tracy Hodge, Wraymond Sawyerr, Patricia Korzec, Erlan Gonzalez, Jeffrey M. Barnes, Lori Nickel and Glenn Jacobs.

Council's direction: forward by Wednesday to the City Clerk one question from each Council Member for a second interview (limit number of questions to five); and keep applications as stand by for selection of alternates in the future.

ADJOURNMENT

Motion to adjourn, m/Mayor Molina, s/ Council Member Jempson. Passed by a vote of 5-0.

There being no further business to conduct, the meeting was adjourned at 4:15 p.m. by <u>unanimous informal consent.</u>

Submitted by:

Jane Halstead, City Clerk, CMC